About SCS

Leadership & Administration

Central Administration

Kelly J. Otter, Ph.D.

Walter Rankin, Ph.D.
Deputy Dean

James V. Parenti, M.A.
Senior Associate Dean

Roseanna C. Stanton, Ph.D.
Chief Strategy & Communications Officer and Senior Associate Dean

Kristen Consolo, M.B.A.
Chief of Staff & Senior Administrative Officer

Laurie A. Jarema, M.A.
Associate Dean, Finance & Administration

Sissel Malmbekk, M.A.
Associate Dean, Operations

Michele Mackie, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Academic Affairs and Compliance

Jeremy A. Stanton, M.B.A.
Executive Director, Technology

Program Administration

Denise A. Keyes, M.A.
Senior Associate Dean, Division of Professional Communication, and Public Relations & Corporate Communications Program

Veronica D. Donahue, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Summer School & Special Programs

Edwin W. Schmierer, M.B.A., M.S.
Associate Dean, Center for Continuing & Professional Education

Uwe Steven Brandes, M.Arch.
Executive Director, Urban & Regional Planning Program

Glenn Williamson, M.B.A. (Interim)
Assistant Professor of the Practice, Real Estate Program

Vincent J. Kiernan, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Bachelor of Arts in Liberal Studies Program

Amy Kovac-Ashley, M.S., M.A.
Assistant Dean, Journalism Program

Beverly A. Magda, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Technology Management Program

Nancy Suski, M.S.
Executive Director, Emergency & Disaster Management Program

John Dolan, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Graduate Liberal Studies Programs

Gray Shealy, M.Arch.
Executive Director, Hospitality Management Program

School of Continuing Studies Executive Committee

The SCS Executive Committee is comprised of tenured faculty from Georgetown University, an Associate Provost and the Dean of SCS. The Committee reviews proposals for new credit programs and advises the Dean on internal and external affairs at SCS and the University. They may also request information and reports regarding marketing, operations, staffing and financial matters within SCS.

Paul Almeida, Ph.D., M.B.A.
Senior Associate Dean of Executive Education, and Associate Professor of Strategy and International Business, McDonough School of Business

Julia A. Lamm, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Theology

Peter C. Pfeiffer, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of German

Kelly J. Otter, Ph.D.
Dean, School of Continuing Studies

Terrence P. Reynolds, Ph.D., Th.M., M.Div.
Associate Professor, Department of Theology

Alexander Sens, Ph.D.
Joseph Durkin, S.J., Professor and Chair, Department of Classics

Anna Celenza, Ph.D.
Thomas E. Caestecker Professor of Music, Department of Performing Arts

Student Advisory Board

Featuring representation from each credit-bearing academic program, the School of Continuing Studies' Student Advisory Board interacts with the Dean and senior administrative leaders to improve the School's student experience. This group addresses both the academic and student life aspects of attending the School of Continuing Studies and meets bimonthly to review progress on ongoing projects and to propose new initiatives. 

Past projects include:

  • Establishing additional quiet study space
  • Organizing networking opportunities for students from all credit programs
  • Providing opportunities for students to produce original video content
  • Bringing stimulating speakers to campus

Faculty Highlight

Journalism Instructors Win Peabody Award for NPR Ebola Coverage

Read More

School of Continuing Studies News and Highlights